Collegium clears 19 names for Judges in HCs

Postado Dezembro 07, 2017

The Supreme Court collegium led by the Chief Justice of India has recommended names of five advocates for appointment as judges in the Karnataka High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Tamil Nadu had also concurred.

The decision is expected to ease some pressure on the high court's judges, as 37 posts of judges out of 62 sanctioned positions were lying vacant.

"The Collegium resolves to recommend that Dixit Krishna Shripad, Shankar Ganapathi Pandit, Ramakrishna Devdas, Bhotanhosur Mallikarjuna Shyam Prasad and Siddappa Sunil Dutt Yadav, advocates, be appointed as Judges of the Karnataka HC".

Those whose recommendations were returned are Gurudas Shyamrao Kannur, Kuloor Arvind Kamath, Kanakatte Narayana Phanindra and Maheshan Nagaprasanna.

Two other lawyers - AV Radhakrishnan and B Pugalendhi - were also recommended for elevation by the High Court.

Among the 10 advocates recommended by the high court on January 13 for appointment, advocate Kasaravalli Chythanya Keshavamurthy was not found "suitable for elevation" in view of "material on record". The governor had conveyed that some of the candidates did not meet the requirement of efficiency in performance.

The collegium also took into account the disagreement between the Karnataka chief minister and certain bodies of advocates over non-representation of cross-sections of the society on the bench of the high court.

"Since the high court collegium has already looked into and tested merit of such representations, need for any further examination thereof stands obviated", the Supreme Court collegium said.

On this, the collegium said: "We are in agreement with the views of the Governor".

On December 1, the apex court Collegium recommended the names of three advocates - Rajesh Kumar, Anubha Rawat Choudhary and Kailash Prasad Deo - for appointment as judges in the Jharkhand High Court.

The names once cleared by the collegium are sent to the Centre for approval after which a formal warrant of appointment is issued by the President. "As per comments of the Intelligence Bureau on one of these complaints, the allegations are not established or are incorrect, (and) the said complaints deserve to be ignored", the SC collegium comprising Chief Justice Dipak Misra and Justices J Chelameswar and Ranjan Gogoi said in the resolution dated December 4.

All of the nine names cleared by the Collegium are lawyers.

The collegium rejected the name of Advocate Piush Chaturvedi as "his average professional income is well below the prescribed minimum professional income limit".