Mayfield, Jackson, Love Are Heisman Trophy Finalists

Postado Dezembro 07, 2017

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and reigning Heisman Trophy victor Lamar Jackson of Louisville are Heisman finalists for the second straight year and will be joined in NY for the presentation ceremony by Stanford running back Bryce Love. Check out these campaign videos for the Heisman Trophy finalists. He is ahead of Sam Bradford as the school leader in pass efficiency for a career going into the January 1 national semifinal game against Georgia at the Rose Bowl.

Eight players have been invited to multiple Heisman ceremonies without winning the trophy - BYU QB Robbie Bosco (1984, 1985), Iowa State RB Troy Davis (1995, 1996), Purdue QB Drew Brees (1999, 2000), Miami QB Ken Dorsey (2001, 2002), Arkansas RB Darren McFadden (2006, 2007), Texas QB Colt McCoy (2008, 2009), Stanford QB Andrew Luck (2010, 2011), and Clemson QB Deshaun Watson (2015, 2016). Mayfield leads the nation in efficiency rating at 203.76 and has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns. "He's put up numbers all year, played outstanding".

Louisville's Jackson will attempt to become just the second player to win the Heisman twice. "They both had great seasons and deserve this tremendous honor".

But Jackson has had less time in the national spotlight this fall, with Louisville going 8-4 (4-4 in ACC play) en route to a bid in the TaxSlayer Bowl.

Griffin won back-to-back Heisman trophies for Ohio State in 1974 and '75.

Mayfield, a senior, finished third in last year's Heisman voting, which is done by members of the media and past Heisman winners.

Not making that cut was a couple of talented running backs. He also scored 17 touchdowns.

Penn State's Saquon Barkley is second in the nation in all-purpose yards (179.5) and is fifth with 21 touchdowns, including two kickoff return touchdowns for the No. 9 Nittany Lions.

San Diego State's Rashaad Penny leads the nation in rushing (168.9) and all-purpose yards (224.8).