Giants among modern-era nominees for Hall of Fame Class of 2019

Postado Setembro 14, 2018

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced a list on Thursday of 102 players and coaches for their modern-era Hall of Fame class of 2019, and several former Redskins are on the list.

None of these nine former Giants are in their first year of eligibility and are unlikely - although all very deserving - to make the final cut and be enshrined in Canton.

He finished his career with the most career receptions (1,325), receiving yards (15,127) and 100-yard receiving games (31) by a tight end in National Football League history, and the second-most touchdown receptions (111) behind only the Los Angeles Chargers' Antonio Gates (114).

He spent his final five seasons with Atlanta, finishing with 111 touchdown catches and 15,127 yards receiving. He was one of four players on the list that are first-year eligible, along with Bailey, safety Ed Reed, and tight end Tony Gonzalez.

Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual meeting on "Selection Saturday", the day before Super Bowl LIII.

Cornerback Champ Bailey was drafted No. 7 overall by the Redskins in the 1999 NFL Draft.

In addition to the 11 player nominees and one coach nominee, the Broncos also have a contributor finalist: owner Pat Bowlen. Among those coaches are Super Bowl champions Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson and Dick Vermeil. The modern-era nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists in January.